Certificate Examinations in Polish as a Foreign Language

The Certificate Examinations in Polish as a Foreign Language (In Polish: Egzaminy Certyfikatowe z Języka Polskiego Jako Obcego), also known as State Certificate Examinations in Polish as a Foreign Language (In Polish: Państwowe Egzaminy Certyfikatowe z Języka Polskiego Jako Obcego), are standardised tests of Polish language proficiency for non-native Polish speakers. The candidates who wish to study or work in Poland, and want to prove their polish may sit for this examination. The examinations are managed and conducted by the State Commission for the Certification of Proficiency in Polish as a Foreign Language. The State Commission sets the exam date, materials, and issues the certificate to candidates who pass the exam. The exam was conducted for the first time in Poland and in other foreign countries in 2004. 
Since that time 267 of examination sessions were organized, 11 697 examinees took the exam on B1, B2, C1 and C2 levels.

These levels are determined as per the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. The following language competences are tested during the exam:
  • Listening comprehension,
  • Accuracy/grammar in use,
  • Reading comprehension,
  • Writing,
  • Speaking.
The certification examinations are conducted on three levels of language proficiency:
  • Basic user;
  • Independent user;
  • Proficient user.
Candidates who pass the exams are given a certificate that indicates the proficiency level of the candidate in Polish language. A certificate in Polish as a foreign language is the only state document that confirms the proficiency in the Polish language.

The exams are held thrice every year- in spring, summer and autumn. 

Eligibility Criteria

All Polish as well as international citizens permanently residing abroad can appear for the exam, except that candidates taking the B1 and B2 levels of the exam must be at least 16 years old and those who appear for the C1 and C2 exam must be 18 years old or above.

Structure of Examination

The examination comprises of 5 sub-tests that are further split up into 2 parts:
  • Written
  • Oral
At all levels, the structure of the written part is the same, varying only in terms of level of difficulty. 

Parts A, B and C of the examination are evaluate in a form of multiple choice or open tasks that requires to select the correct answer or writing down an apt grammatical form. Part D and E of the examination are evaluated with the use of partial assessment criteria. 

Examination marks are given as per the following scale:

 Grade  Points  Percentage
 Excellent  189.6-200  94.8-100%
 Very Good  169.6-189.5  84.8-95.75%
 Good  149.6-169.5  74.8-84.75%
 Satisfactory  120-149.5  60-74.75%
 Fail  0-119  0-59.5%

Candidates who could not pass the examination can re-take the exam at the same level after 1 year.


About 6 weeks after the exam, candidates will get the result notification. Candidates who pass the examination will receive a certificate that confirms the proficiency in Polish as a foreign language at a given level. The certificate is issued upon the payment of the certificate fee.  Candidates would get the certificate by registered mail.

Special Arrangements

Candidates having special needs can apply for the exams, and special arrangements, such as extending the exam duration, or use of specialised devices etc. are arranged for them.

For latest updates see official website Polish National Agency for Academic Exchange
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...
  • No Articles to display

Know More »

  • No Press Releases to display

Know More »

Poland Select a Country

Our Network :